My iPod #17: The Offspring – All I Want

So I’m watching standard TV one day, I change it to MTV2 and then suddenly “ALL I WAAAAAAAAAAAANT YAH YAH YAH YAH YAH” and a guy falls into a pit of mud and the video ends.

Wh-what.

I should probably start from the very beginning. Everyone knows ‘Pretty Fly (For a White Guy)‘ right? If you have heard this song, even a clip of it in the shop or an advert or what not, this is the band who made that song.

I probably knew that song when I was, like 4. It got to number one in the UK for about a week, and I think I liked it and I remember my sister singing it too. Of course then I didn’t know who it was by, but the counting in Spanish and ‘Give it to me baby, UH-HUH UH-HUHs’ were too catchy. I barely like it anymore, it’s really cheesy for me anyway. I haven’t got it on my iPod.

My cousin bought me The Offspring’s Greatest Hits compilation for Christmas 2005, but that was because I knew that songs like ‘Hit That’, ‘Original Prankster’ and ‘Can’t Repeat’ were on there, so I didn’t pay as much attention to ‘All I Want’.

I would probably talk more about how I got to like The Offspring. But that will probably in the blog for ‘Hit That’ when I come to it. Maybe next year. Or 2015.

In regards to ‘All I Want’, that split second of the ending of the video left me really puzzled. I never listened to ‘All I Want’ before so I went onto YouTube. The comments below were mostly along the lines of ‘Yeah, this song rocks’ to ‘Yeah, Crazy Taxi’ to which I thought, ‘OK… back to the video.’

The song is very quick. It’s on their album ‘Ixnay on the Hombre‘ released in 1997 and was released as the first single from it. It’s a fast, punchy, all-up-in-your-face punk song about breaking free, fuck the system, ‘I DON’T WANNA BE CONTROLLED, ‘SALL I WAAAAAAAANNT.’

Dexter Holland singing ‘Want’ in the chorus probably takes up half the song, but it’s a hell of a chorus. You just feel like running down a corridor screaming that shit.

The video is something else too. It’s pretty funny, you get the band performing the song in a house with different colour effects, a guy pushing women over, stepping in some weird shit on the ground, running past policemen on pogo sticks and random clips of a guy with sunglasses and a mask over his face whilst playing the piano. It’s crazy. It’s cool. IT’S ALLLLL I WAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNT. YAH YAH YAH YAH YAH.

Until next time.

Jamie.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

