My iPod #159: The Offspring – (Can’t Get My) Head Around You

 

There’s not much I can say about “Head Around You”. I remember trying to watch the video on Windows Media Player from the band’s official website circa 2004. It was in terrible quality, which made the multi-camera concept much worse.

It’s a short but sharp song – only two and a bit minutes long – but it always feels a lot longer when I listen to it. I don’t know what it is about it that makes me feel that way. It’s probably the riff, it virtually plays throughout the whole thing bar two times. It is a simple punk rock song, that’s what it is.

I do also like the wah-wah effect during the instrumental break, that gets a special mention.

The song was released as the second single from the band’s 2003 album “Splinter“.

Jamie.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

