My iPod #167: The Zombies – Care of Cell 44

When I should have been revising for my A2 exams, I found myself listening to random albums on Spotify. “Odessey and Oracle” was an album I stumbled across thanks to this site, and “Care for Cell 44” is the song that starts everything off.

“Care…” is one of the happiest songs I have ever listened to in my eighteen and a bit years of living. Following on from the dainty piano that plays in the opening seconds is an upbeat, bouncy rhythm helped along by a melodic bass-line and almost child-like vocals of Colin Blunstone.

For a band named “The Zombies” I was expecting their sound to be a lot more ‘noisy’, to put it in a weird way. But I was pleasantly surprised to hear such an uplifting track, especially one to begin such an enjoyable album.

Jamie.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

