My iPod #186: Green Day – Christian’s Inferno

 

I thought “21st Century Breakdown” was a real bore of a first listen. Being available as an exclusive on we7.com, when the site was actually useful, I took the opportunity to hear Green Day’s new album. It was their first in five years, you know.

But I didn’t think it was too great. At least from what I can remember anyway. I already didn’t like “Know Your Enemy” – thought that was quite a disappointing first single – and I wasn’t amazed by anything much on the album. Everything sounded the same production-wise.

I did download it eventually later on in 2009. Feelings improved a bit. I still didn’t think it could be regarded as one of the band’s finest albums though. But the number of songs I was able to memorise did increase.

Then Green Day: Rock Band came out the following year, and that helped me a lot to work out the melodies and ‘guitar patterns’ of the whole album. It made me appreciate the album that bit more.

I am still very confused about what the concept of 21st Century Breakdown is. I probably mentioned this in a previous post. Still not quite sure who Christian and Gloria are, or what they are meant to represent. I am not sure why Christian is so full of wrath in this particular track either.

“Inferno” is a belter though. Not one of the best tracks on the album, with a repetitive chorus and theatrical, maniacal laughter by Billie Joe which doesn’t have any emotional effect on me whatsoever. But…. I don’t know, it’s just something to jump around and go crazy to when no one’s around.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

