My iPod #240: They Might Be Giants – Dark and Metric

“Dark and Metric” is a track from the album “Long Tall Weekend” by They Might Be Giants.

Again, I’m left with little to say about this one. If only I actually knew more about music like modes, and steps etc. etc. I would be able to tell you a lot more. But there’s something about the way it sounds that didn’t feel right when I first listened to it. There’s no phasing, panning or any special effects, just the vocal, keyboard and the rhythm section which are then joined by a slide guitar nearing the end. It leaves the song sounding a bit empty, and quite uneasy. It grew on me eventually.

The melody’s perky but matched with lyrics about living in a town where nothing happens; the narrator puts on a brave face but inside knows that they will become miserable at some point.

See ya.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.