My iPod #377: Late of the Pier – Focker

The video for “Focker” is strange. In so many ways. The first time I heard the track was when I watched its video on my television’s interactive music video service; I was left confused, astonished, and perplexed by what I had seen. But it does fit the music perfectly, which is what every music video should aim to do.

I think it’s right to say that “Focker” is made up of three parts. The first consisting of the song’s two verses and wailing chorus (“I wanna be your frieeeeeeeeend oh yeaah”), the second being the instrumental breakdown accompanied by manipulated, onomatopoeic vocals and the final coming as a surprise synthesizer onslaught that pans endlessly around the headphones until halting to a stop, bringing the track to a close.

It’s a thrill to listen to. Very crazy. Very good though. Are they still together?

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

