My iPod #378: Biffy Clyro – Folding Stars

I haven’t listened to this song in a while, actually. Not because I don’t like it as much as I did when I first saw it on the television all those years ago in 2007, but only because it hasn’t been in my mind lately. Nothing to make me sad or upset has occurred within my life to make me want to play this track. I’m a very happy person, you know. But it’s one that a lot of people can connect with, especially because of its subject matter.

Simon Neil wrote it as a tribute to his mother who passed away in 2004. The track is one of the slower and quiet ones on “Puzzle” and probably the most emotional. The track guides the listeners through Neil’s emotions around the time that his mother’s condition was deteriorating and sums his current feelings with four simple words – ‘it’s not getting easier’.

Although admitting that it was a tough song to record, “Folding Stars” is definitely a highlight from “Puzzle”. A very sweet song indeed.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

