My iPod #384: The Magic Numbers – Forever Lost

So The Magic Numbers apparently released their fourth album this year…. I didn’t even know. Whether the band were still together was a question that popped into my head, before I went onto Wikipedia and saw that they, in fact, are. The group might not have so much mainstream success now, but about ten years ago – when guitar music had a greater chance of chart success – The Magic Numbers put the work in.

“Forever Lost” was the first single released from the band’s debut self-titled album in 2005. I distinctly remember the track’s music video appearing almost every day on MTV2, and every time I saw that first frame of that cartoon clock I switched the television to another channel. I did this countless times. The video never seemed to go away. So I gave in. I gave in, and found out that the song wasn’t actually that bad after all. In fact, it was a very sweet and pleasant song to listen to. And I had to admit that the video was a bit cute too. I was ten, don’t judge.

This cheery, upbeat tune about someone who doesn’t know where they belong anymore got the band their first top twenty hit. And for good reason. If you don’t feel anything listening to those soft vocal harmonies, general calm vibes and the melodica usage then…. this clearly isn’t for you. Come back tomorrow, though.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

