My iPod #389: Graham Coxon – Freakin’ Out

I believe “Freakin’ Out” was Graham Coxon’s breakthrough solo single. The Blur guitarist had actually been releasing albums by himself for years before “Happiness in Magazine” came out whilst also fulfilling duties for the band. This time, Blur had been no more for about a year and Coxon released this storm of a track to remind people that this is what he’s all about.

I don’t think anyone really knows how good a guitar player Graham Coxon actually is. Well, he’s very good. Pretty underrated if you ask me. He can play all these intricate guitar phrases in a split-second which weave around a song’s main melody. He does that here too, but it’s all at a very fast rate.

Got no clue what the track’s about, never cared that much, all I know is that I dug it from the moment I heard it. Very heavy and loud. Especially for a guy who helped write “Parklife”. I like that song too…. but you know what I mean.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

