My iPod #400: Nine Black Alps – Full Moon Summer

Nine Black Alps’ third album “Locked Out from the Inside” owns. Unlike “Everything Is” where there are two solely acoustic tracks to slow down the album’s flow and mellow things out a bit, “Locked Out” provides one stormer after another. “Full Moon Summer” is the seventh one in the track list.

I can’t remember how I felt about the track when I listened to the album for the first time. As a whole, I was just very happy to be hearing a new Nine Black Alps album; the excitement took over and I knew that I was hearing stuff, but it didn’t really sink in. But after inevitable repeated listens of it, I weirdly came to the conclusion that “Full Moon Summer” is the album’s centerpiece.

I hear this song and visualise the band playing it on a stormy day under skies in the mixed colours of pink/blue/black/purple that you see on the album’s front cover. Generally,  I find something very mystical and highly dramatic about it. Mystical because I think it’s about a ghostly presence (if not I have no idea), and dramatic just because of how every note and sound is pummeled into your ears. It’s intense.

Author: Jamie Kyei Manteaw

An English student at Coventry University who spends most days listening to music (old and new) and reading and writing about it, however informal it may be. And studying too, obviously.

Leave a Reply

